Voivod – Morgoth Tales LP (Import)

$35.99$42.99 CAD

SKU: voivod-morgoth-tales-lp-import Categories:



Celebrating 40 eventful years of existence, Canada’s progressive sci-fi metal innovators VOIVOD present their special Anniversary release “Morgöth Tales”, which includes fresh studio (re-)recordings by the band’s current line-up of 9 especially selected, not-so-obvious picks from the band’s hyper-classy and extremely diverse back catalogue (between 1984 and 2003) as well as a brand-new song in the album’s title-track, “Morgöth Tales”. “Morgöth Tales” als features special guest appearances by former VOIVOD members Eric “E-Force” Forrest (E-Force, vocals on “Rise”) and Jason “Jasonic” Newsted (ex- Metallica / Flotsam And Jetsam, bass on “Rebel Robot”). “Morgöth Tales” succeeds VOIVOD’s 15th (!) much acclaimed and Juno Awards nominated studio album “Synchro Anarchy” (2022), which reached # 7 in the official album sales charts in Germany. 180g vinyl LP with 4page LP-Booklet. And don’t miss VOIVOD on tour to celebrate 40 years of “Morgöth Tales”…

VOIVOD drummer Michel “Away” Langevin commented about “Morgöth Tales” as follows: “’Morgöth Tales’ covers 40 years of space exploration. It was really exciting for us to revisit a more obscure part of the Voïvod catalogue, from thrash-punk to prog-metal to…? The title track is a new song, which we started writing in the tour bus and hotels during the Opeth European tour in November/December 2022. It has the vibe of the experimental music we are doing nowadays, with a new twist I think. We also had the great thrill of getting E-Force and Jasonic involved on this album. I hope you’ll dig it, Chewy, Rocky, Snake and I certainly had a blast recording it. All aboard and ready for take off!“

A first single/video off “Morgöth Tales” is being launched today with the song “Nuage Fractal (2023 Version)” and can also be checked out in a lyric video created by Cloud Music Typography here: https://youtu.be/YNQTBSu79T4

VOIVOD – “Morgöth Tales”

1. Condemned To The Gallows (2023 Version) (04:33) [Originally on Metal Massacre V Compilation, 1984]

2. Thrashing Rage (2023 Version) (04:15) [Originally on “Rrröööaaarrr”, 1986]

3. Killing Technology (2023 Version) (06:31) [Originally on “Killing Technology”, 1987]

4. Macrosolutions To Megaproblems (2023 Version) (05:19) [Originally on “Dimension Hatröss”, 1988]

5. Pre-Ignition (2023 Version) (05:07) [Originally on “Nothingface”, 1989]

6. Nuage Fractal (2023 Version) (03:41) [Originally on “Angel Rat”, 1991]

7. Fix My Heart (2023 Version) (04:36) [Originally on “The Outer Limits”, 1993]

8. Rise (2023 Version, feat. Eric Forrest) (05:00) [Originally on “Phobos”, 1997]

9. Rebel Robot (2023 Version, feat. Jason Newsted) (04:50) [Originally on “Voivod”, 2003]

10. Morgöth Tales (04:57) [New Song]

Additional information

Weight350 g
Dimensions33 × 33 × .3 cm
Vinyl Colour

Black, White